All IB courses are two-year courses of study and cannot be undertaken in a shorter period. Students may begin studies in year 10 and sit for examinations in May of their year 12, or they may retake examinations in the year after the completion of their year 12. Students can therefore complete the Diploma course over a period of three years.

IB subjects are assessed only in year 12. Approximately 75% of the assessment for each subject is conducted through examinations set by the IBO, administered by the school, and corrected by Examiners from outside the school especially trained for that purpose. All students sit for their exams at the same time from the beginning of November, and all students sit the same papers. The other 25% of marks are given for internally assessed work which is moderated externally by IB Examiners.

IB assessment results in the awarding of points for achievement. The maximum number of points possible is 45. In normal circumstances, a minimum of 24 points is required for the awarding of the Diploma.

Subject results are graded on a seven point scale which includes the examinations and the Internal Assessments. Gradings are defined as follows:

7. Excellent
6. Very Good
5. Good
4. Satisfactory
3. Mediocre
2. Poor
1. Very Poor

In addition, students may gain up to a maximum of three points for their TOK and Extended Essay. There are a number of ‘Failing Conditions’ which result in the awarding of a Certificate instead of a Diploma. The most obvious one is gaining less than 24 points, but performing very poorly in a HL subject or a number of subjects can also result in the awarding of a Certificate instead of a Diploma.